This Mel's Life


Reviewed at 12:43 a.m. on Monday, Mar. 10, 2003 by Coffeebitch


Opening Comments:: How could a banner featuring a redheaded sexpot NOT catch my attention?



Creativity: 3/5 points.
Besides a great image and a nice font? Not astoundingly creative.

Originality: 3.5/5 points.
This banner is nothing to write home about but it doesn't seem to jump on any established bandwagons. The picture is fun; the layout is standard. To quote Jen: �Face on left, words on right. Voila! Banner.�

Design: 4/5 points.
Redhead. Sexpot. Yeah! I like the image. I also like the font. I'm a sucker for simplicity, and this banner has a classy, understated look to it. Points are lost in the grammar department, however. I tried so hard to make sense out of the words. The first couple times I read it I thought the top line read �this is mel�s life.� That was fine. I started this review thinking I was only going to complain about the question mark. (Is it a diary? Is she a mod housewife? What are we questioning here?) Then I realized that the first line was �is�-less. Further research led me to discover that �this mel�s life� is the title of the diary. Okay. It doesn�t exactly roll off the tongue, but y�know� like� whatever. It is at this point that I suggest capitalization. I understand that sometimes capital letters ruin the aesthetics of a line of text. Hell, I was going sans capitalization in my diary for a long time, but the ambiguity got to be too much for I need to know when a sentence is beginning!

Draw: 5/5 points.
I likey the redheaded sexpot. What? I already mentioned that? I�ve also been experiencing some strange nesting instincts lately, so the �mod housewife� teaser sealed the deal. So, despite (or maybe because of) my confusion over the text portion, I clicked.


15/20 points, 78% C+


last review + next review

Recent reviews:
-
amberfalls
We done run you outta town.
Hippies ... Hippies.... They're all around me.
Hit the Panic Button


Est. 2003. Design � Style Sheet Princess, Graphics � Booberella. You steal, you die.